Cyprus Agrotourism Company
Tel (+357) 22340071
Tel (+357) 35726201150
Fill up this form to contact us if you have any further questions
Stay in touch
We value your privacy. None of the details supplied will be shared with external parties
The village of Arsos is one of the biggest wine producing villages in Cyprus. It lies 40 kilometres from Limassol and 45 kilometres from Paphos. It is built on the slopes of Laona mountain, 1092 metres above sea level, with an open horizon on the Valley of the Diarizos River, as far as the sea of Paphos. Thanks to this geographical position, it enjoys a wonderful cool and dry climate in summer and attracts therefore hundreds of holidaymakers.
Arsos wine, famous since antiquity, was considered one of the best produced on the island, a reputation continuing to this day. In fact, wine making is still one of the villagers' main occupation.
Arsos acquired its name in the French Lusignian era when it was called Tarcce. Apart from the natural beauties of the village itself, today's visitor will be enchanted by the rich and attractive scenery surrounding it.
The village housewives are famous for their cooking prowess especially in preparing such typical Cypriot dishes made from wine as "palouzes", "epsima", biscuits with "epsima", "paste", "shoudzioukos", "kiofterka", "arkatena", *"kattimerka", "glyko" and many others.
Visit the churches of 13 century Apostole Filippos, the chapel of Ayia Mariamni and the icon museum, the Folk art museum, Hike in the area’s Nature trails ( ‘Six Fountains’ trails) , follow the Wine Routes no. 3 (Diarizos Valley - Pafos Region) and no. 4 (Wine villages - Limassol), visit Nikolettino winery in the village and shop 'Kallena' to taste and buy a variety of organic herbs, wines etc. Visit the waterfalls of Trozena at 6 km away and the river in Tzelefos bridge
Multi-Centre, Tavern, coffee shops, Bank, Local traditional product shops, Park,
Larnaca Airport - 106 km
Paphos Airport - 61.8 km
To the northwest of Limassol town, at a distance of 45 kilometres lies Lemithou village at a height of 1200 m, near the mountain resorts of Troodos, Prodromos and Platres. The wonderful mountain landscape with its evergreen forests and exclusive deep valleys distinguish the village as one of the most beautiful in the Marathassa district. The village was most probably established in the Byzantine times and acquired its name from its first inhabitant Lemithis or from the indigenous plant lemithin.The main cultivations in the area are vines (of wine making variety), apple, cherry and peach trees. In 1912 the Mitsi Business School was founded in the village, among the graduates of which are a number of distinguished Cypriot personalities. The village's main attractions are the church of Ayios Theodoros of the 16th century (wooden roof - single nave), the church of Panayia Iamatiki (Virgin Therapeutic), a contemporary building which houses the 17th century icon of the Virgin. Other churches in the area are those of Ayios Nicolaos and Ayios Georgios. Because of its location the village is an ideal base for walks in the numerous nature trails, for cycling and for sight seeing (note the byzantine monasteries of Kykkos, Trooditissa and others). As for ski fanatics, the Troodos ski centre is only 8 km away. A sight not to be missed is the rare and beautiful moufflon (a rare breed of goat indigenous only to the island) at nearby Stavros tis Psokas.
Visit the churche of Ayios Teodoros, Panayia Iamatiki, Ayios Nicolaos and Ayios Georgios, the monasteries of Kykkos and Trooditissa, Visit the Folk Art Museum and the historical monument, Go cycling , Hike in the area’s Nature trails
School, Restaurant, coffee shops, grocery stores, ort services, Sports field, Cultural Club "Parakentro"
Larnaca Airport - 118 km
Paphos Airport - 60 km
Anoyira is a small quiet, picturesque village halfway between Limassol and Pafos. It is a 25 min., drive to Limassol and a 15 min. drive to the beach. It is about 10 km inland from Avdimou. It lies about 800m above sea level.
As far as houses are concerned, those that dominate are the traditional ones which are elongated, two-room and arch-divided, with solariums, upper storeys, and apses, all built with carved limestone that abounds in the village. Around the houses there is usually a tall wall with a street door.A narrow bridge over a small stream connects the west neighbourhood with the village centre. On one side of the bridge, low and alongside the riverbed, a traditional 14th century well is built. It is made from limestone and is the size of a small room. There are large faucets where water comes out. In the centre of the village stands the old church of Archangel Michael with a magnificent sundial over the south entrance. The church’s other entrance is built in the gothic style. The woodcut women’s loft is unique in its kind in the Greek Orthodox Church. There are valuable old icons in the church, the “iconostasi” (icon screen) will impress the visitor with its gold-filled carvings and its venerable, old icons. The Church precinct is decorated by two trees of the Moracea family – very rare in Cyprus. They look like sycamores and are in fact a pair, male and female, since only one of them produces fruits. The name of the trees is “Maclura Pomifera” (osage orange or hedge apple) and the yellow-green fruits have a diameter of up to 15 centimetres and are used for handicraft purposes.
The most impressive part of the village is the large paved central plaza surrounded by traditional, stone-made houses. A stone-made spring with a Mediaeval sculpture, considered to be one of the very few found in Cyprus, stands at the upper part of the plaza.
On entering the village you cannot fail to notice the renovated two room building that houses the Pasteli Museum. Here, the visitor can see all the equipment used for the making of the very sweet “pasteli” from carobs which come from trees all around the village. Moving on from the plaza toward the east, you pass through the paved, verdant alleys and come to the village boundary where the original Elementary School stands in silence, gazing out at Episkopi Bay and where events organised by the Village Association, particularly the “Pasteli Festival”, is held. It is organised in mid September each year and attracts many people from all over Cyprus and abroad.
Visit the church of Archangel Michael and the monastery of Timios Stavros, visit the Pasteli Museum, the Carob Factory and oil Museum. 'Oleastro' is the olive park in the village and there you can learn everything about the olives. Visit Nicolaides winery, Follow Wine route no. 4 (wine village - Limassol). Visit 'Anoirkatiko' farm house to taste and buy dairy products of Anogyra.
Taverns , 2 coffee shops, 3 grocery stores
Larnaca Airport - 103 km
Paphos Airport - 37 km
Vouni, a picturesque wine village with cobbly alleys, traditional houses with wooden doors, large windows, narrow balconies and inside yards, attracts both locals and foreigners with its rich architectural heritage, who see it as an outdoor museum of the life and culture of the most recent centuries.
It is located in the wine villages of the Lemesos District, on an altitude of 800 metres above sea level. The village spreads on a slope with a southern gradient. The village’s landscape is “impressive with its high peaks reaching a height of 1153 metres at the location ‘Moutti tou Afami’, north of the settlement, and the beds of the rivers ‘Chapotami’ in the west and ‘Kryos Potamos’ in the east”.
The naming of the village is linked to its location. According to the Great Cyprus Encyclopaedia, the village was named ‘Vouni’, “which means “low mountain”, due to the location where it is built.
Activities and Places of Interest
Visit the Churches of Timios Prodromos and Panayia Peravouniotissa, the chapels of Chrisosotiros, Saint Ioannis Rossos and Saint Mamas and the Monastery of Resurrection. Visit Vouni- Wine & Culinary Center to learn about the History of Wine in Cyprus. Visit the byzantine and folk art museum and the old olive mill. Follow the wine route no. 4 - Wine villages - Limassol. Walk in the narrow streets to admire the local architecture and in the designated paths of nature in the area.
grocery store, taverns, coffee shops
Larnaka airport 104 km
Pafos airport 60 km
The picturesque village of Koilani is built close to the west bank of the river Kryos (Cold River), a tributary of the Kouris River, at an altitude of 820 meters. Tall mountaintops come into view from all the sides of the village, adding a unique beauty to the landscape. It has a distance of 36 kilometres from Limassol (north-westerly). The village is connected through a motorway to Pera Pedi in the east, to Vouni in the south-east, to Mandria in the north, and to Silikou in the south-east. Koilani has preserved -to a great degree -the rich, traditional folk architecture of the wine-producing villages of the Limassol district. Narrow, paved, ascending alleys, tiled roofs, picturesque upper floors, yard walls with earthenware jars, balconies, and arches with embossed frames at the entrances of houses that are built with regional, carved limestone, providing to the visitor a taste of the tradition and inheritance of this unique -in beauty -village.
Vasa Kilaniou or Krasoxorion, the fifth vine village in Limassol, is located on the slope of Troodos mountain range, surrounded by vineyards and steep slopes wonderfully “coloured”. It is only thirty five kilometers far from the city of Limassol and it is situated at an average altitude of 750 meters. It is interesting how the village’s name is being associated with its topography; it has been named Vasa by the ancient Greek word "Vassa" or "Vessa" which means wooded valley.
Thus, the famous wine village Vasa Kilaniou or Krasoxorion has traditionally contributed in the production of high quality Cypriot wine. The inhabitants’ occupation with viticulture has begun in the distant past. Both, Mas Latri and Gkontry write about Vasa’s vineyards; the latter mentions that Vasa is one of the villages that “provide the best black wines “, adding that “the largest quantities of raisin are being produced in Kilani and Vasa". The intensive cultivation of vineyards along with the wine and grapes production contributed to the economic booming and prosperity of Vasa, especially during the British Administration. The population growth from 397 in 1881 to 871 in 1946 as well as the florescence in literature and music (whose tradition dates back to the Ottoman period, in the early 19th century) is indicative of the village’s high growth. After the Second World War, Vasa, along with the rest wine villages, experienced the economic decline. It is noticeable that the 2001 census showed that Vasa was inhabited by only 120 people. However, the village has been developed as a touristic destination managing both, to preserve and highlight its tradition and history as well as to settle the proper infrastructure for the provision of high level hospitality.
It is worth to mention that even today Vasa’s residents continue to show clear preference for the local wine and generally for the grape juice produced by the vineyards of Vasa. Finally, it is remarkable that apart from the production of local wine, Vasa’a people keep on preparing traditional products derived from grapes, such as "soutziouko", "ppalouze" and "kiofterka."
Activities and Places of Interest
Visit the churches of the Virgin Mary of Evangelism, Saint Giorgios, Saint Varnavas, Apostle Timonas, Prophet Elias and the chapel of Timios Prodromos. Follow the Wine Route no. 4 Wine villages- Limassol. Visit Demetres Lipertis house who was an important contemporary poet and one of the greatest representatives of Cypriot dialectal poetry. Visit 'Argyrides Vasa Winery' in the village, 'Zivania' Museum and 'Ecclesiastical' Museum.
Taverns, Grocery store, Coffee shops
Larnaca Airport 105 km
Pafos Airport 53 km
Lofou, an enchanting village, listed by UNESCO as an architecturally important village. Little more than 20 years was an abandoned village but now the villagers are returning and restoring the homes in keeping with their original character. The village of Lofou is in the district of the wine villages between Limassol and Paphos, about 26 kilometers northwest of the city of Limassol. Lofou is built amphitheatrically on the peak of a hill with an average altimeter of 780 metres. This fact establishes Lofou as an exceptional mountainous resort since it offers a long cool period to its visitors, which lasts from Easter until October.
There are no historical findings that may help us define the exact date on which 'Lofou' was founded. The area must have been inhabited since the Bronze Age. The village is built on a hill between mountains and gets its name based on this fact. The name Lofou was inspired by the Greek word 'lofos' which means 'hill'. The original name of the village was "Lofos" since the early 20th century. That can be proven by the birth certificates provided by the local primary school, on which "Lofos" was written as the birthplace of the students. Lofou, as one important wine village of the “ampelochoria” area, with the soft climate and the territorial conditions is ideal for the growth of vineyards. The local wine of Lofou is famous all over Cyprus for its excellent quality.
Activities and Places of Interest
Visit the Church of Panagia Chrysolofitissa. The Chapels of Prophet Elias, Agios Georgios and Agia Marina. Visit the village 'Olive Mill', the 'Agricultural Museum', 'Folk art museum'. The walking trail begins just a few tens of meters north of the building area of Lofou towards Sylikou village. It covers a distance of about a kilometer and follows a downhill course towards the traditional ' faucet of Elitji', where the villagers of Lofou used to get water at the older times. Follow Wine Route no. 4 - Wine villages-Limassol. Visit the Wood Carving Workshop and the Traditional Products Shop. The Community Council and the Lofou Association of expatriates organizes every year in September, the 'Palouze' Festival (traditional sweet made from grape juice). Enjoy a four-day Festival for the 15th of August - the celebration dedicated to the Virgin Mary (Panagia)
Coffee shops, taverns/restaurants, grocery store, traditional products shop.
Larnaca airport 92 km
Pafos airport 57 km
If you want to discover the year round real flavor of Cyprus beauty in the Mediterannean sea, come to Pitsilia area in Troodos mountain range, in the picturesque village of Potamitissa. The village stands at a height of 820 meters above sea level, among pine-clad rocky mountain peaks near to the highest point of Mount Olympus that reaches 1950 meters.
The refreshing alpine atmosphere exudes an invigorating and calming feeling. Village history dates Potamitissa back to the middle ages. The inhabitants of the village of Rogia established it, when the Saracen pirates destroyed that village prior to the start of the Ottoman era in 1570. The village church build in Byzantine style, is dedicated to Holy Virgin, gazing regally over the steep riverbanks.
On the left banks of Ambelikos River, that divides the village, there is spectacular scenery of abundant vegetation, vines, apple and peach trees, olive, walnut and almond trees, and a profusion of wild violets supported by the unique enviable Mediterranean climate. It is a perfect location from where to explore the beautiful green heart of Cyprus. Every year in May the nearby village 'Agros' organize the “Rose Festival”, that attracts thousands of visitors having the chance to see the unique products made from roses, collect them and learn the process of how rose water is made and packed, or sample the taste of the famous “Rose Liqueur” or “Rose Brandy”. Wine Route no. 4 passes through the village in order to admire the vineyards that grow several local wine varieties.
Activities and Places of Interest
Visit the church of the Holy Mary in the village and the chapel of Panagia Chrysomyrousa just outside the village. Follow Wine Route no. 4 Pitsilia valley. Go to Tsiakkas Winery in Pelentri village and to ' Kyperounta Winery' in the village of Kyperounta. Hike in the areas many nature trails.
Coffee Shop, Tavern in Ambelikos Agrohotel.
Larnaca airport - 108 km
Pafos airport - 77.8 km
The Community of Sykopetra is a mountainous village built on the eastern foothills of the Mountainous part of the Pitsilia Region of the Lemesos District. It is situated on the borders of three districts, of Lemesos, Nicosia and Larnaca. The community is approximately 30 kilometres away from Lemesos, 45 km from Nicosia and 65 from Larnaca. The community of Sykopetra consists of the village of Sykopetra, which is built on an altitude of 800 metres, and the housing of Prophet Elias, which is built on an altitude of 950 metres.
Systematic archaeological research has not been conducted in the area. However, findings that have come to light certify the existence of a settlement in the area ever since the period of the Kingdoms of Cyprus (1050 B.C. – 725 B.C.). In fact, in an area near the village there is evidence proving the extraction of copper.
Toponyms and other evidence substantiate the historical correlation of the village’s identity to its existence ever since the Byzantine period and up until the ottoman domination.
There are two versions concerning the naming of the village. The most predominant version is a legend which has been passed down from generation to generation. According to the legend, a princess named Nafsika was travelling towards her kingdom in Tamasos. While riding her horse, it slipped at the large rock found above the village and the princess was killed. According to the legend of local tradition, the horse’s footprint is still evident today. The village was named after the princess, ‘Nafsikopetra’ but with the passing of time, it was renamed to ‘Sykopetra’ to facilitate pronunciation. The second version suggests that the name of the village is a combination of the words fig (syko) and rock (petra) due to the multiple fig/prickly pear trees and rocks found in the area. The settlement of Prophet Elias is more modern and according to historical sources, in the past, it was called ‘Lambiris’. It was renamed by the first resident who had built the church of ‘Prophet Elias’ after he had found an icon of the Prophet in a river nearby.The village is known for the grow of mandarins and many other kinds of fruit.
Activities and Places of Interest
Visit the churches of Prophet Elias and Agios Demetrios. See the traditional olive mill in the village. Follow the wine route no. 6 - Pitsilia. Hike in the nature trails of the area.
Mini market in Prophet Elias, tavern, coffee shop
Larnaka airport 66.7 km
Pafos airport 102 km
Episkopi is a village of mixed population in the Lemesos (Limassol) district. Is is situated about 14 km west of the city of Limassol and 40 km east of Pafos, linked by a modern intercity highway. Most of the village comes under the jurisdiction of the British base of Akrotiri-Episkopi. Episkopi is built on the foothills of ancient Kourion with a fertile plain stretching to the south, at an altitude of 60 meters, close to the west bank of the river Kouris and overlooking the bay of Kourion. Archaeological findings, unearthed through the entire area, reveal that during the ancient times Episkopi was connected to the city of Kourion. During the first century AD, Episkopi succeeded Kourion as a regional centre and a seat of bishops. The seat was removed during the Frankish period (after 1222) when the Orthodox Episcopal seats of the island were reduced from 14 to 4.
De Mas Latrie says that in the 13th century Episkopi belonged to the aristocratic family of John D' Imbelin, Count of Giaffa. During the 14th and 15th century, the village was known under the name of La Piscopia dei Cornari (The Cornaros Episcopate) and belonged to the Cornaro family from which the last Queen of Cyprus, Catherine Cornaro, descended. The King of Cyprus Peter gave the Episcopate to the Cornaro family as a gift.
Visit the churches/chapels of Ayia Paraskevi and Ayios Ermogenis , the Curium Museum, Visit the ancient town of Curium and the historical Temple of Apollon and ancient stadium, Go for swimming and cycling along the coastline. Follow the Nature Trail of Apollona Ipsilatis.
Medical Services, Banks, ATM, Restaurants, Taverns, Supermarkets, Coffee Shops, Bar/Clubs, Sports stadium, Cinema, Police Station, public transport services
Larnaca Airport - 82.4km
Paphos Airport - 49.2km
About twenty kilometres north of the city of Limassol, at an altitude of 410 meters above sea level, stands Apsiou. The river Garyllis flows at the foot of the village. The gardens that surround the village, with the vines across, mixed with the olive and locust trees as well as the forest that's north-east, compose a unique picturesque landscape.Apsiou was one of the villages of the "Grande Commandarie" and it is mentioned by Masse Latri as Apsiu and Apsius. Gunnis mentions the Church of the Virgin Mary, built in 1740, as well as the well known monastery of Amirou. Here are several versions regarding the name of the village. One interpretation, that of Nearchos Clerides, reports that the village took its name from the first miners that worked there. They came from Naxos (Greek island), thus they were "Naxiotes", "Axiotes", "Apsiotes", "Apsiou". Another version reports that several inhabitants of Apesia moved to the region and from that came the name "Apesia", "Apesiou", "Apsiou". Coummandaria winery can be seen from the south of the school. Several years ago the processing of grapes for the making of Commandaria was done on site. For fifteen days the palyground, the threshing floors and the surrounding fields were turned into a large drying yard where the grapes were spread out to dry. A great variety of geological formations exist here, attracting a number of scientists to the region.
Visit the historical monuments that are of particular interest are the Church of the Virgin Mary Chysogalousa, built in 1740 as well as the well-known monastery of Amirou and the church of Agios Epiphanios. Follow the wine route no. 5 - Coummandaria that passes through the village. Hike in Troodos mountains nature trails.
coffee shops, grocery stores, Cultural Centre, Schools, Sports stadium, taverns
Larnaca Airport - 77.6 km
Paphos Airport - 78.4 km
The village of Fasoula is in the district of Limassol, at a distance of about 7 kilometers north of the city of Limassol.The village is built at an average altitude of 370 meters and receives an average annual rainfall of about 550 millimeters. Locust, almond, and olive trees, cereals, as well as a few citrus trees are cultivated in the area of the community. As far as stockbreeding is concerned, it only operates in a limited manner.
From the perspective of transportation, Fasoula is connected via turnpike roads to the city of Limassol on the south, and the village of Spitali in the west. It connects via a macadamized street to the village of Apsiou in the north and with the village of Mathikoloni in the east.
Today the inhabitants of the community number 400.The village existed since the Medieval years and it can be found marked in old maps under the names Fasula and Pasula. However, the area of the village was inhabited ever since ancient times. Indeed, there was a temple dedicated to "Lavranios" Zeus in the southwest of the village, at a distance of about 800 meters on top of the venue named Kastros. This hilltop is today known under the name "Moutti tou Dhkia" Hilltop of Zeus). Inscriptions -all engraved on pedestals of statues-dedicated to "Lavranios" Zeus have been found on this hilltop. These inscriptions date back to the 2nd century AD, that is, at a time that Christianity had already become dominant in Cyprus. So it seems that the region of Fasoula was one of the last strongholds of paganism.
The natural environment of the village is truly unique.During springtime, the verdurous valley with its blooming almond-trees and the crops create an amazing sight.
Visit the Tomb of St. Reginos and the old Chapel, the large church and tiny chapel of St. Marina, visit the Rural Museum and see the old tools used by peolpe , the Olive mill, Carob museum and the workshop of scupltor Yiapanis( Giapanis Art Studio),
Visit the renowned location “Kastros” where there used to be a temple dedicated to Zeus
Coffee shops, Youth Centre, Tavern, Playground, Bank
Larnaca Airport - 71.9 km
Paphos Airport - 70 km
It lies at an altitude of 1130-1300 meters and it is the third highest village in Cyprus. With a population in approximately 1,500 it can be called the head-village of Pitsilia. The village took its name from the plant Cyperus rotundus (kyperos). The village was possibly established during the Byzantine era. This is indicated by several folkloric songs of the 9th and 11th century that mention its name. One of these songs is named Marouthkia. During Frank domination, as De Mas Lartie mentions, “Chiperonda” was one of the villages that were considered royal property. The map of Abraham Ortelius also charted the village as “Choperoda” in 1573. During the Ottoman era, the village was divided into two neighborhoods by river Kourris. One of the neighborhoods was built around the church of Saint Marina, while the other was built on the east of the Church dedicated to Virgin Mary. The houses were built in such a way so as to “be able to internally communicate with one another” and their roofs were unified, creating an imaginary road. This type of architecture helped the inhabitants to escape in cases of Turkish invasions and loots. Kyperounda is a picturesque village that still honors traditional architecture. The “religious monuments”, explicitly the main church of the village dedicated to Saint Marina, the church of Virgin Mary and Chrysosotiros and the chapel of the Holy Cross add to the beauty of the village. It is worth mentioning that the chapel is interesting for its “ecclesiastical sculpture” and its murals that go bask to 1521. The chapel is included in the World Heritage catalogue conducted by Unesco, and it has been turned into a museum. Kyperounta is famous for its wine and apples. The Apple Festival (every second weekend of October) as well as the Children’s Festival of “Andreas Nearchos” (every second weekend of August) are among its most popular events.
The Youth club of the village is very active and organizes a lot events, sports etc.
Visit Kyperounta winery famous for it's superb wines, visit the churches and Chapels of the village, Museum of traditional life and Natural History, the Eccleciastical museum, take part in the village festivals dedicated to APPLE and the Children Festival.
Walk in the nature trails of the area. The Adventure Mountain Park is a must to visit with your family and friends.
Kyperounta hospital, Taverns, Youth club (Cafe & Restaurant) in the village square, 2 banks (ATM), Grocery store
Larnaca Airport - 111 km
Paphos Airport - 80 km
Omodos is located about 42 kilometres north-west of the city of Limassol, in the geographical region of the wine-making villages. It is built near the west bank of the Cha-potami river at an average altitude of 810 meters. The village is surrounded by tall mountain tops, the tallest of which are "Afames" (1153 m.) and "Kremmos of Laona" (Laona's Cliff, 1092 m.). Vines and various fruit-trees (apple, plum, pear, peach, and apricot trees) are cultivated in the region. There also are uncultivated areas that are taken over by varied natural vegetation. The ornament and true pride & joy of Omodos is the Monastery of the Holy and Life-giving Cross, built at the heart of the community. It rises majestically and with its imposing presence it becomes a significant part of Cyprus's cultural heritage.
The Monastery of the Holy Cross is one of the oldest and most historic monasteries of the island. According to tradition, the Monastery was established before St. Helen's arrival in Cyprus in 327 AD. The exact date of establishment is unknown. Perhaps it existed before the village and Omodos was later established around the monastery. Various historians of Cyprus such as Neofytos Rodinos, the Russian monk and traveller Barsky, the Dean Kyprianos and others, refer to St. Helen's visit to Cyprus and to the fact that she left a part of the Holy Rope and the Holy Rood in the Monastery. This rope, with which the Romans bound Christ to the Cross, is described as red coloured and "stained by the blood of Christ". After several miracles by the Cross, the Monastery gained substantial reputation and evolved to a great place of adoration until today.
Since ancient times Omodos is renowned for its superb grapes and tasty wines. According to tradition, the -of excellent quality and sweet smelling -wine Afames, which took its name from the mountain that bares the same name and is located east of the village, was the cause for the island being conquered by the inebriate Sultan Selem II so that he could have this famous wine as his own. The known mediaeval winepress, found at a small distance from the Holy Cross Monastery, is evidence to the fact that production of traditional wine took place in Omodos since ancient times.
The inhabitants of Omodos, apart from growing vines and producing excellent wine and "zivania" (traditional alcoholic beverage), also handle the making of "soutzoukos" (must-stick with almonds), "palouze" (must jelly), "kkiofterka" (dried must jelly in rhomboid pieces), and "koulourka" (rusks). The "arkatena koulourka" (crunchy rusks with yeast) of Omodos are also well known and sought after throughout Cyprus. Also, genuine and of excellent taste sweets are made out of local fruits.
Home handicraft flourishes in Omodos. The village's women, apart from the plentiful and hard work that they offer next to their husbands for the cultivation of the earth, are also occupied with handmade embroideries, making wonderful brocades, tablecloths, threaded quilts, and narrow-knit and Chantilly laces. Many wineries are located in the village with great vineyards and quality wine. In Omodos village you can enjoy local cuisine tasting traditional dishes and drinking local wine.
Visit the Holy Cross Monastery and the many other churches and chapels in the village. Go to the traditional Tavernas to enjoy local dishes. Kalidonia and Myllomeris Waterfalls in Troodos Mountains are only few minutes drive away. Cylcing, Hiking. Follow the Wine Route no. 4 (Wine villages - Limassol). Visit the village museums and the wineries.
Supermarkets, Tavernas, Coffee shops, Bank, Post Office, Shops, Health Centre, Bakeries
Larnaca Airport - 106 km
Paphos Airport - 53 km